Follow as I follow

Please note: The last Growing in Discipleship daily devotion will be posted on Saturday, October 25. We will be posting some other places to find daily devotions online, or to have them delivered to email in the days ahead.

Date: Wednesday, October 15

Scripture1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1

VerseFollow my example, just like I follow Christ’s. (1 Corinthians 11:1)

FollowMeThere is an old saying that goes something like, “Be careful to whom your hitch you wagon, or you may end up some place you never intended to go.” That’s pretty good advice. I was very fortunate early in my ministry to look up to some of the right people. There was a young pastor (he seemed so much older then), at the big United Methodist Church about 5 miles from the tiny one I had been appointed to as a seminary student. He loved showing me how to do ministry with integrity. Soon after that, I met a pastor near retirement who hired me to be the youth pastor at the church he was serving. He too taught me what it was like to pastor the people of the church I served. There were others out there — those who had their eyes on some other prize — to whom I am glad I never hitched my wagon. I’m sure you know the same thing in your work, in school, and in your relationships.

In today’s passage, Paul is very clear to tell the new Christians in Corinth that if they want to know what it means to be a Christian, they can look to him. The reason they can trust him enough to follow him, is because he is following Jesus. We are all part of a great continuum of believers, people who are following others, who were following others, who were following Jesus.

Part of our job as Christians is not only to follow, but also to be leaders as Paul led that early church. I have recently heard a great phrase from the staff and other leaders of our church who are participating in the 3DM process. They frequently ask themselves and the rest of us, “Do you have a life worth imitating?” Or to put it another way, Should people be following you because of the way you are following Christ? That’s a tough question, but one we need to be living into every day.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord Jesus, for those who have given me a model to imitate. May I be that model for someone else. Amen.

Action: Thank a mentor today, and consider if you are living a life worth imitating.

Respond: Who are some of the people who taught you the ropes — at work, school, church, etc.?

Join the conversation! Click “Leave a comment” or type in the “Leave a reply” box below. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion in the email to go to the webpage. Then follow the instructions above.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

