Jesus the Way

Date: Saturday, October 4

ScriptureJohn 14:1-7

Verse: Jesus answered, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6)

Google-MapsI love our GPSs, map apps, and other turn-by-turn, satellite aided, driving directions. But I don’t always trust the disembodied voice telling me how to get from point A to point B. I often zoom out on the map before I get started to get a general idea of where I am going. The turn-by-turn is good, but I want to know a few steps down the road. I think it may be a control issue, but I’m not sure. I guess in some ways, I’m a little like Thomas.

As Jesus is preparing his disciples for the time coming when he will no longer be with them physically, he tells them to trust God, trust him, and know they will get to be with him again some day. He finishes by saying, “You know the place where I am going.” Thomas, the disciple known as the doubter, which I think makes him very relatable, says, “No we don’t. How can we? You haven’t told us the way. We’ve simply been following you.” The actual quote is, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going. How can we know the way?” (verse 5). To which Jesus replies with these famous words, “I am the way, the truth, the life.”

We are often looking for a way — a way forward, our career path, the road to college, navigating our way through relationships and more. We want to zoom out, know where this path will lead, then we can get on it with confidence. Jesus tells us to trust him, and that he is the way. I may not trust Siri with turn-by-turn directions to my destination, but I’m trying to learn to trust Jesus knowing he is the way to the Father.

Prayer: Teach me, Lord Jesus, to trust you and your way. Amen.

Action: The next time you use your navigation system / GPS / map app, think about whether you trust God with your life more than you trust the satellite with this trip.

Respond: Do you peak at the whole map like I do, or do you trust the navigation system to get you where you’re going?

Join the conversation! Click “Leave a comment” or type in the “Leave a reply” box below. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion in the email to go to the webpage. Then follow the instructions above.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

