Like we’d been dreaming

Date: Monday, September 1 — Happy Labor Day!

ScripturePsalm 126

Verse: When the Lord changed Zion’s circumstances for the better, it was like we had been dreaming. (Psalm 126:1)

Click to enlarge. I’m not always good at asking for what I want. I sometimes expect others to somehow know what I want and need, and provide it without my asking. Then, when I do ask, I water it down. I don’t ask for what I really want, but for something lesser. You may do this as well. We expect our employer to notice all we do for the company and give us a raise without asking. When the raise doesn’t come, some of us then ask for less than we think we are worth. Or in our relationships, we sometimes put expectations on others to do things for us without us asking. Then, when we finally ask, it is for something lesser. Unfortunately, I have sometimes allowed this attitude slip into my prayer life. But God wants us to ask for what we need, to pray God-sized prayers.

Psalm 126 is a great example of asking God for what we want or need. Verses 1-3 are a prayer of thanksgiving for all God has provided in the past. A time when God did amazing things for the people, more than they dreamed of, and there was great celebration. Then comes verse 4 which says, in essence, “Please do that again.” Change our circumstances for the better, turn our sadness into celebration, multiply our work into something only you could do. Make our dreams come true again.

Sometimes I pray wimpy prayers. I only ask for things I think are realistic and reasonable, things I probably don’t need God’s intervention to accomplish. I ask him to bless what I’m already doing, to help me, to make subtle changes. I need to get better at asking God to do God-sized things, to make it seem like we had been dreaming when he shows up to meet those needs.

Prayer: Teach me to pray God-sized prayers, O Lord. Amen.

Action: Pray for what you want from God, no matter how unrealistic it sounds.

Respond: Are you good at asking for what you want, or do you just expect others to know and make it happen?

Join the conversation! Click “Leave a comment” or type in the “Leave a reply” box below. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion in the email to go to the webpage. Then follow the instructions above.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

