Hope in struggle

Date: Friday, August 29

Scripture2 Corinthians 4:7-18

Verse: We don’t focus on the things that can be seen but on the things that can’t be seen. The things that can be seen don’t last, but the things that can’t be seen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:18)

Logo I just noticed painted on a building on Voyager Parkway in Colorado Springs.

Logo I just noticed painted on a building on Voyager Parkway in Colorado Springs.

The other day I noticed a new sign on a building I travel past fairly frequently. I remarked to my wife that I had often wondered what the building housed, and now they had a sign. That’s when she told me she had noticed the sign several weeks before. There are times I know I miss things that are going on around me because I am so focused on what I’m doing. This is not a big deal when all I’ve missed is a sign on a building for a few days, but other times I’m missing what is going on in the lives of the people around me. Family members are struggling and I don’t see it. A coworker is hurting and I’ve missed it. A friend is feeling lost and I hadn’t noticed.

Today’s scripture lesson talks about seeing things other people don’t. We Christians not only see the physical, but we are sensitive to the greater world going on around us. We are aware that we are part of the Kingdom of God. Good and bad happen in this world, but we know something greater. Money comes and goes, but we know something greater. Circumstances make us happy and sad, but we know something greater. Nowhere in this passage does the word “hope” appear, but this is another passage of the hope we have because we know the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

When we get moving fast, or spend too much time focused on ourselves, we can miss a lot. Not only will we miss what is happening in the lives of the people around us, we will also miss the beauty of the movement of God. It takes time and practice to learn to slow down. Our devotions are a good start. The next step is to begin to notice the “unseen” all throughout the day.

Prayer: Open my eyes, O God, to see beyond what is right in front of me so that I may notice the greater world around me. Amen.

Action: Consciously take note of what is going on in the lives of the people around you. How can you become more sensitive to that?

Respond: Can you relate to my not seeing that sign? Have you ever noticed something for the first time, only to be told it had been there before?

Join the conversation! Click “Leave a comment” or type in the “Leave a reply” box below. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion in the email to go to the webpage. Then follow the instructions above.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hope in struggle

  1. Linda Lyons says:

    This happens to me all the time. But I do notice some things that other don’t notice, so I am not sure whether that means I am focused on the wrong things or hyperfocused on some things and hypofocused on others. I try to remember to just stop, stand back and be present so I am more aware of my surrounds….it’s hard.

Leave a Reply

