Watching and waiting

Date: Wednesday, July 9

ScriptureProverbs 8:32-36

Verse: Happy are those who listen to me, watching daily at my doors, waiting at my doorposts. (Proverbs 8:34)

Third Day

Third Day

Many years ago, while attending a Third Day concert, I left the venue to go get something I’d forgotten from my car. On the way back in, I heard some people talking into radios about how “they” were approaching. Thinking the only people they could be talking about were the members of the band, I decided to just hang around for a few minutes by the stage door. Within a few minutes, a van pulled up and out came Mac, Mark, Tai, David, and Brad. I called out to Mac and Tai, and each looked right at me and waved. It was a pretty cool moment for one who had all of their CDs at the time.

Today’s reading talks about “watching daily at [God’s] doors,” waiting for God to show up. When we seek him and find him, the Bible says we find life. Waiting by the door for a band to pass by and wave is pretty silly, but waiting for God to pass by and finding him, brings life. Sometimes we bow to pray, read our devotions, or come to church without much expectation of God showing up, but today’s reading tells us we should wait expectantly for him to arrive. Like one standing by the door hoping to catch a glimpse of our favorite band, we ought to approach our spiritual disciplines longing to see God.

That evening waiting by the doors hoping to catch a glimpse of Third Day, I almost gave up several times. People were waiting for me inside and the “they” mentioned by security could have been someone else. In the end, I was glad I waited. Even more importantly, I am thankful for the times I have waited upon God, and caught even just a glimpse of his presence in my life.

Prayer: Grant me patience, O God, to wait expectantly by your doors to see you pass by. Amen.

Action: The next time you are waiting for a friend, in line, or for a table, reflect on what it means to wait upon the Lord.

Respond: Have you ever had a celebrity close encounter?

To join the conversation click the word “Reply” in the bottom left corner of this window, or just type in the “Leave a Reply” window if others have commented before you. Let us know what you are thinking. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion to go to the webpage where you can leave a comment at the bottom. 

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

