Lighting a path

Date: Tuesday, July 8

ScripturePsalm 119:105-112

Verse: Your word is a lamp before my feet and a light for my journey. (Psalm 119:105)

icon-flashlightLast week, during our high school mission trip, I wondered if any smartphone companies had ever considered doing an ad showing how useful our phones are on mission trips. I texted updates to our leaders, used the maps to get around places I didn’t know, and stayed connected to the outside world by checking emails — all on my phone. The most useful feature though, was one of the simplest — the flashlight. Everyday I used my phone to illuminate my way when I came to bed after the lights had been turned out, or got up before they were turned on. Navigating the room filled with air mattresses and and suitcases was much easier because I had a flashlight on my smartphone.

Today’s scripture reminds us that God’s word is, like my phone was, “a lamp before my feet.” To keep us from bumping around in the darkness of our world and misstepping, God has given us his word. Our Bibles have a way of illuminating the next step in our journey of discipleship, and keeping us safe as we seek to follow in the footsteps of Jesus. But if I don’t open it, it isn’t much help. Like the apps on our smartphones, we need to open it for it to be useful.

I was so grateful for the flashlight feature of my phone last week, illuminating a path in a room filled with darkness. So too am I thankful for the word of God which lights my way when I feel in the dark.

Prayer: Teach me your Word, O God. Amen.

Action: Find a time to use your phone as a flashlight this week. Reflect on how it is like God’s word in your life.

Respond: Have you discovered an app that is very useful, which for a long time you didn’t know you had on your phone?

To join the conversation click the word “Reply” in the bottom left corner of this window, or just type in the “Leave a Reply” window if others have commented before you. Let us know what you are thinking. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion to go to the webpage where you can leave a comment at the bottom. 

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

