Our commissioning

Date: Friday, June 20

ScriptureMatthew 28:16-20

Verse: Therefore, go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit (Matthew 28:19)

Time2GoI remember the day my parents dropped me off at college. I was unsettled leaving the home I had known for 18 years. But it was time. It was time to “go” and become the person they had raised me to be. Soon, I will be the parent dropping my son off at college, and again it will be unsettling, but it will be time. Time to go.

I can only imagine what the disciples must have been feeling that day, knowing Jesus as about to physically leave them. All they had known for the past three years or so, was following him. Jesus called them to come to him, and they came. They went where he led. Ate with whomever he ate. Taught those who were drawn to him. Even watched him do amazing healings and other miracles for the people around them. That time, that season of life, was coming to a close. It was time for them to leave the home they had known. It was time to go.

We church people can be awfully good at Jesus’ command to come. We come to church every Sunday. We come for Bible Study, committee meetings, choir rehearsal, Vacation Bible School, and more. We come to sit at Jesus’ feet to learn, and grow, and be nurtured. But Jesus calls us not just to come, but also to go. To go and be about the work to which he as called us. As faithful followers of Jesus Christ, we need to come and go.

Prayer: Give me the strength and courage, Lord Jesus, to go where you send me. Amen.

Action: Reflect on the times you have been sent — transferred, deployed, moved, etc. Reflect not only on the difficulties, but on what happened for you because you had the courage to go.

Respond: What are your memories of leaving home?

To join the conversation click the word “Reply” in the bottom left corner of this window, or just type in the “Leave a Reply” window if others have commented before you. Let us know what you are thinking. Email subscribers, click the title of the devotion to go to the webpage where you can leave a comment at the bottom. 

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our commissioning

  1. Llsa says:

    I’ve been feeling “sent” a lot more recently, in fact. When I find more reasons to find the courage to act instead of just watching, I just feel like I’m fulfilling my purpose instead of burying my talents in the ground.

Leave a Reply

