God still creates

Date: Thursday, April 24

ScripturePsalm 65:1-13

Verse: You water its furrows abundantly, settling its ridges, softening it with showers, and blessing its growth. (Psalm 65:10)

I remember the days I held each of my children for the first time. It was a deeply spiritual and emotional experience. To know this new person had come from me, and now it was my responsibility to care for him/her. Now, in seemingly the blink of an eye, my oldest is preparing to go off to college in the fall. Parents who have already gone through this stage of life remind me my work as a parent is not ending. It will continue.

When many talk about God the creator, they speak as if God’s creating is complete using the past tense. Genesis 1 & 2 tell us how God created everything, they say, set the cosmos in motion, and now simply sits back and watches. When we think of God this way he seems distant, and we wind up seeing the journey of faith as a quest to get to the this cold, distant God.

Today’s reading, and others like it, refute that line of reasoning. God is not done creating. He is still active in the world around us. Psalm 65 poetically reminds us that God’s creativity and care for creation continues today in the tides, the seasons, the growth of grain and produce, and in the lives of human beings. God is not done. He is active in the world and in our lives.

As I prepare to parent from hundreds of miles away, it is comforting to know God is present, and will continue to be present in the world around me. When I pray, I know he not only hears, but acts. I sense his presence, ask for his healing, rely on his strength, and am so thankful for his peace and joy in the midst of struggle. God is not sitting back waiting for you or me to find him. Instead he is here, actively seeking us.

Prayer: Thank you God for your continued work in my life and the world around me. Amen.

Action: Go through an old photo album, reflecting on the roles you have had throughout your life. How do they continue today?

Respond: How do you see God’s continued activity in the natural world, in your role as parent/child/friend/etc., in your life? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” or “1 (or more) Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

