To show his glory

Date: Tuesday, February 4

ScriptureRomans 9:19-29

Verse: But who indeed are you, a human being, to argue with God? Will what is molded say to the one who molds it, “Why have you made me like this?” (Romans 9:20)

Yesterday we considered God’s history of choosing the “wrong” people to be the ones through whom he would bless the world. While I am glad God has chosen me, one of the “wrong” people, I sometimes struggle with some of the other people he has chosen. Today, we need think of the other – the ones we think are unworthy – and how God is choosing and using them. 

From time to time God has spoken to me through unexpected people – complete strangers who were talking about something else, acquaintances whose presence in my life showed me something, and even sometimes those I was not fond of who called me out on a specific behavior or error. Each time it would have been easy to miss what God was trying to say because of the vessel he chose to get the message to me. “But,” as Paul says in today’s passage, “who indeed [am I], a human being, to argue with God?” 

Sometimes we are quick to judge in whom God is at work. We can honor those who think and act like us, while dismissing those who are on the opposite side. But our opinion of the other may be invalid. God has chosen each of us, for different purposes (see verse 21), to show his glory. The way he uses me may be vastly different from the way he uses another, but he is still using us both. Thanks be to God, we are not the ones to decide!

Prayer: Teach me, Lord Jesus, to see others as you see them. Amen. 

Action: Look for God at work in the lives of those you meet. 

Respond: Has God ever spoken to you through unexpected means? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below. 
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

