God is faithful

Date: Monday, January 13

ScriptureRomans 3:1-8

Verse: What if some were unfaithful? Will their faithlessness nullify the faithfulness of God? By no means! (Romans 3:3-4a)

Many of us have had friends who are only nice to us when we are nice to them. They never seem to go out of their way or us, or expect reciprocation if ever they do. Seldom does it seem they are doing something out of the goodness of their hearts, or out of their care for us. After a while we begin are waiting for the ask whenever they call.

Unfortunately, we sometimes place a similar personality on God. We think he is only kind to those who do what he wants them to, or to put it another way, that he only loves those who love him. Of course, this is not the case. Paul is clear in saying that our unfaithfulness does not negate God’s faithfulness. God is there for us every time we turn to him – even if we had tried to do it on our own for many, many years before. There is nothing we have done, or haven’t done that would exempt us from the love and grace of our great God.

As I write these words, I am fully aware I don’t always work out of the mindset. Sometimes, I try to keep things from God because I am ashamed, or I don’t turn to him because I feel undeserving of his help. I assume he really doesn’t want anything to with me because I have been neglecting him. I need to be reminded often of how even when I am unfaithful, God is faithful.

Prayer: Thank you, gracious God, for your continued faithfulness, even when I am not. Amen.

Action: Share God’s faithfulness with someone today with an act of generosity or forgiveness.

Respond: How do your relationships with others affect your understanding of God? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

