I’m not ashamed

Date: Tuesday, January 7

ScriptureRomans 1:16-17

Verse: For I am not ashamed of the gospel; it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who has faith, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. (Romans 1:16)

There have been times, I confess, when I have chosen to keep quiet when I shouldn’t. Times when I have met people, who in the course of conversation I have learned are struggling. Though I have wanted to encourage them to get involved in church, or to talk to me or another pastor, I have chosen instead to either remain silent or to offer far weaker advice. When I think of those times, I wish I would have been bolder about how my faith has influenced me. Especially when I look at the example of someone like Paul. 

When Paul talks about not being ashamed of the gospel, he is talking about being bold enough to continue to share the gospel throughout the world, after being beaten and jailed several times for it. Eventually he will come to Rome in chains, as a prisoner to stand trial for his proclamation of the gospel – that Jesus is Lord, and not Caesar. Paul literally put his life on the line for the gospel. 

So I am embarrassed there have been times when I have kept quiet because someone might think less of me, or for fear of making myself, and/or the other, briefly uncomfortable. I want to be more bold – not in proclamation of my being on God’s side, or God being on mine – but rather in love. I want to love boldly in Jesus’ name. 

Prayer: Lord Jesus, please forgive me for the times I have kept quiet when I shouldn’t, and strengthen me. Amen. 

Action: Consider your response if someone asked why you are a Christian.  

Respond: When have you made the choice to share your faith? What happened? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below. 
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

