We are heirs of the King

Date: Friday, December 6

ScriptureGalatians 4:1-7

Verse: So you are no longer a slave but a child, and if a child then also an heir, through God. (Galatians 4:7)

Bill Murray

There is a story floating around about an encounter a fan had in an elevator with actor and comedian Bill Murray. I read the story from author Donald Miller who writes:

The man stood uncomfortably quiet as the elevator descended to the lobby. Finally, the man looked over at Murray and said he was a fan and it was a pleasure to meet him. Bill just nodded and smiled and then continued to look forward. The fan looked rather apologetic and when the doors opened the fan walked sheepishly out of the elevator. Murray followed him to the entrance and walked right as his fan walked left. Then, suddenly, Bill Murray turned, ran toward the man and tackled him into a shrub. He sat up, pointed his finger at the man and said Your friends will never believe this happened! and then he ran off in that characteristic awkward-legged run Murray is known for. (from “What Makes a Person Memorable” on Donald Miller’s Storyline blog)

I wonder how I would act if I were in an elevator with Bill Murray or another celebrity. It must be intimidating, wondering if it is appropriate to chat with someone of great fame. Is it alright to say hello, or would I just be seen as annoying?

I’ve never been in an elevator with a celebrity, but I have sometimes been uncomfortable in my relationship with God. Sometimes I am just along for the ride, quiet, wondering – as I imagine this fan of Bill Murray was – if I am worthy of being in his presence – wondering if I am welcome or a nuisance.

Today’s scripture reminds us we are worthy. We are not slaves or fans but children. Through Christ God has drawn us near, redeemed us, and adopted us as his children. And when you are walking away, he just might tackle you into a shrub to let you know you are worthy, you are loved, you are his child.

Prayer: Gracious God, thank you for making me your child. Amen.

Action: Perform a surprising act to let someone know how much you appreciate them. (But please, don’t hurt anyone.)

Respond: Have you ever had a close encounter with a celebrity? How’d it go? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We are heirs of the King

  1. Keith Spicer says:

    I once went through airport security next to Charlie Pride. As we were putting on our shoes I asked him “are you Charlie Pride? When he nodded yes, I said I am a big fan and enjoy his music. Afterwards I realized how stupid it seems to say I am a big fan but asked him who he was. He probably got a laugh out it anyway.

Leave a Reply

