Give thanks to God

Date: Friday, November 22

ScriptureColossians 3:12-17

Verse: And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in the one body. And be thankful. (Colossians 3:15)

I have been in the church since I was 5 years old, which means I have been surrounded by saints all those years. I remember Mrs. Hartman, my first Sunday School teacher, who sat behind our family at the early service every Sunday until I graduated from high school. My best friends in high school were not ones I went to school with, but rather those with whom I went to church. In the first church I pastored I met two saints – Ed who was 90+, and Henrietta who was in her 70s – who taught me so much about the journey of growing in Christ. When I went to another church as a youth leader, which for them started in 3rd grade, I got to know some 8 year olds I walked with and eventually saw graduate high school. At Tri-Lakes UMC I watched as my then grade school daughter got to know Mr. Hamilton because of the homework done by the Prime Timers. Later she had him as one of her Confirmation Class teachers. The connections I have made in the church are truly remarkable.

It is so easy to slam the church. Our denominational leaders sometimes appear so out of touch with what is going on. We don’t always agree with our pastors and leaders. We might even become hurt or angry because of decisions made by the powers that be. But where else would one get connected with people from 8 to 80? The church gives us great opportunities to get meet people from all walks of life, and to share in what matters most to all of us. Oh, the church can be frustrating, but it is also so very beautiful.

In today’s passage I am reminded to give thanks for the church, the body of Christ of which I am privileged to be a part. As I do so, a long list of people who have had a profound impact on my life comes to mind. I am thankful!

Prayer: Thank you God for the church, and what it has meant in my life. Amen.

Action: Offer a prayer of thanksgiving for the people in your church who mean so much to you. Consider sending one or two a note of thanks.

Respond: Who are you thinking about? Why? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

