Was blind but now I see

Date: Monday, November 4

ScriptureJohn 9:24-34

Verse: He answered, “I do not know whether he is a sinner. One thing I do know, that though I was blind, now I see.” (John 9:25)

I heard recently about a trend in upscale restaurants where one eats completely in the dark. Apparently you order either the meat, seafood, or vegetarian platter, having no idea what it will include. The inability to see what you are eating is said to heighten your other senses, allowing you to taste the food more fully. Certainly our sight may affect how we view the food we are eating, but this may be going to an extreme.

Of all the stories they could have told about Jesus, the Gospel writers all seemed to enjoy telling stories where Jesus gave sight to the blind. I imagine they could identify with those stories, as they too, through Jesus, had their vision changed. The image continues to resonate with us today. We identify with the healing of this man in John 9 every time we sing “Amazing Grace” – “was blind, but now I see.” We understand something of how Jesus allows us to see things we hadn’t seen previously. It is as if our eyes are opened afresh.

The vision Jesus gives us allows us to follow his way, whether we have physical sight or not. We begin to see God moving in the world around us. We begin to notice those in need physically, spiritually, and emotionally. In short, Jesus gives us a vision of God’s Kingdom, and we begin to notice how the world around us falls short.

I don’t think I’ll be going to one of those restaurants to eat in the dark. I have stubbed my toe in the middle of the night enough times to know I want the lights on. Thanks be to God who through Jesus Christ has turned the lights on in my life so I might see his way and follow in it.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, thank you for restoring my sight to see the world as you see it. Amen.

Action: Spend some time in the dark this evening.

Respond: Would you like to try eating in complete darkness to see if it heightens your sense of taste? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Was blind but now I see

  1. Judy Keller says:

    Eating in the dark at a restaurant sounds like an idea cooked up by a really bad chef!

    • Linda says:

      I am leary of restrautants with very low lighting and whether they are trying to hide something. (plus it is hard to read the menu). Eating in the dark is kind of creepy. Jesus is the light of the World! Follow the Light!

  2. Lisa says:

    Eating in the dark would really mean going out on faith – trusting a chef you don’t know – which you normally do all the time but you get to “check it out” first before eating. So then I wondered about eating in the dark in my own house and even that felt spooky. “Trust and obey, for there’s no other way…!

    I know I take my sight for granted… but I always tell people how I am a “visual learner” and so in that way I appreciate it. This is really making me think about my “spiritual’ vision when I go out in the world (or just sit at my computer). Hm!

Leave a Reply

