Those yet to come

Date: Thursday, October 24

ScriptureJohn 17:20-26

Verse: I ask not only on behalf of these, but also on behalf of those who will believe in me through their word (John 17:20)

Several months ago I was in a colleague’s office where he had a framed piece of paper given to him upon his ordination. At the top of the page was his name followed by the words, “ordained by” and his bishop’s name. Next was who ordained that bishop, then who ordained that bishop, until at the very bottom of the page it read, “who was ordained by John Wesley.” I’m pretty sure I broke the commandment about envy that day. How cool it must be to have his connection back to the roots of our denomination before him every day. Of course most of us don’t have an ordination legacy, but we do have a faith legacy.

In some ways, my faith journey began before I was born. My mom was brought to church by her grandmother, a woman I never met. If that hadn’t happened, my mom might not have had a faith to pass on to me. I have no idea who passed it on to my great-grandmother, but she received it from someone as well. Again, had that not happened, my faith journey might be vastly different.

In our passage today, Jesus is praying for the lineage of faith to be established. He recognized not only their belief, but “those who will believe in me through their word.” Our Christian faith is intended to be handed down, word-of-mouth, one broken and transformed life bringing transformation to the brokenness in another. Person to person, sharing the love of Jesus and little slice of the Kingdom.

I find it fairly easy to see myself on the receiving end of the line, but need to recognize there are many coming after me with whom I am called to share the love of Jesus. I need to keep the legacy going.

Prayer: Thank you, O God, for those who have passed their faith on so I could know you. Teach me how to be that for someone else. Amen.

Action: Identify people in your life to whom you will be passing on your faith. What can you do today to make a difference?

Respond: From whom did you receive your faith? Where did they receive it? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

