Longing for God

Date: Saturday, October 19

ScripturePsalm 42

Verse: My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and behold the face of God? (Psalm 42:2)

When we first moved from New Jersey to Colorado, I soon noticed how people from Colorado carry water bottles with them wherever they went. It was different to see people with water in their cars, at their desks, and in the store. I resisted the change until I got altitude sickness for the second time. After a few weeks of initial discomfort, my water bottle became part of my routine. Hydration at this arid altitude is important, and needs to be performed more intentionally than in the humidity of the Jersey Shore. You and I living in Colorado know we need to drink significant amounts of water to stay healthy.

“As a deer longs for flowing streams,” the Psalmist poetically writes, “so my soul longs for you, O God.” As essential as water for my body is the presence of God for my soul. My deep inner presence needs to know the presence of God, so I must continually put myself beside the stream to drink.

My hope is that as you have been reading this week’s devotions, you have noticed how scripture tells us we serve God, not only in the quiet moments of prayer and Bible study, but with the entirety of our lives. Verse 8 points in that direction as the author talks about God’s command for love during the day, and his song with us at night. In other words, we can put ourselves beside the stream when we are doing our devotions and when we are serving a neighbor.

Like we residents of Colorado keeping our water bottle nearby, we need to keep in close contact with God at all times. It nourishes and refreshes the deepest part of us, giving meaning and value to our lives.

Prayer: Thank you God for your constant presence in my life. Draw me to the stream in my inner and outer life. Amen.

Action: Every time you reach for your water bottle in the day ahead, repeat Psalm 42:1: “As a deer longs for flowing streams, so my soul longs for you, O God.”

Respond: Share a time when you have been very thirsty, literally or figuratively? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

