Choosing God’s path

Date: Friday, October 11

ScripturePsalm 1

Verse: They are like trees planted by streams of water, which yield their fruit in its season, and their leaves do not wither. In all that they do, they prosper. (Psalm 1:3)

We typically think of the spring as the time to plant flowers, but now is the time to plant tulip bulbs. We plant them in the fall, then in the spring they will come up and add color to our yards. The same, they say, is true of grass. Here in Colorado, I have heard it is best to plant grass seed right before a snow storm. I’m guessing that’s because as the snow melts it will receive plenty of water, and that the blanket of snow will keep the seeds from blowing away in all the wind we experience. Plants survive best when they are planted properly, at the right time, and in the right place (direct sunlight or shade?, etc.).

Today’s Psalm tells us we are much the same. When we choose to follow God’s path, meditating on the Law, we are like trees planed by streams of water. Because we are constantly watered and nourished, we will be able to bring forth fruit.

Where do you plant yourself? Upon what are you meditating? Is your life filled with meaning or are you primarily seeking distraction? I know there have been times in my life (far more than I’d like to confess), when I have planted myself in a place where I can see what my neighbors have; times when I have planted myself by the stream of self, meditating on the latest self-help book; times when I have planted myself in my family – over-identifying with the successes of my children; and times I have chosen to plant myself too often and for too long at the computer or television. Soon those are exposed as “chaff that the wind drives away” (vs 4).

Prayer: I long, O Lord, to be planted by the stream of living water, Jesus the Christ. Amen.

Action: Where are you planted? How might you choose to be planted by God’s stream of nourishment and strength?

Respond: What fall/winter planting advice have you heard? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

