Groping for God’s way

Date: Wednesday, October 9

ScripturePsalm 86

Verse: Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart to revere your name. (Psalm 86:11)

Recently I followed my GPS to a meeting location in Denver. When the meeting was over, I was unsure how to get back to I-25, so I pressed the “Go Home” button on my GPS, and followed the directions. About 30 minutes later the normally soothing voice of the GPS lady, startled me when she interrupted my quiet ride to tell me my exit was approaching. Once I was on I-25 heading south, I didn’t need any more directions but had forgotten to turn off the GPS.

In much of our lives, we are so comfortable with where we are going, we too don’t need the GPS. Having been traveling the same path for years, assuming we know where it is headed, we can get on autopilot – get up, go to work, come home, eat dinner with the family, watch some TV, go to bed, repeat. Every once in a while though, we get this sense we have gotten off the path, and need some directions back to the way of God.

The author of Psalm 86 is trying to turn on the GPS. There is a sense he has lost his way. She is crying out to God, asking for forgiveness, searching for answers in a time of trouble. So the psalmist prays, “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth.” Many of us have prayed a similar prayer when we feel lost. Asking God to get us back on the right path. We need our life-GPS to get us back on the path we know will lead us home.

Prayer: When I stray, O God, forgive me and place me back on your way. Amen.

Action: Is the path you are on your own, or God’s?

Respond: Has your GPS ever startled you? How often do you use yours? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Groping for God’s way

  1. Lisa says:

    You’re right; I seldom use my GPS when I already “know where I am going,” but I do get stuck in a rut.

    The most startled I got by my GPS was when, after a very long day of highway driving, she told me to “Turn Right Here,” and I almost blindly did what she said without also looking to see if there was a car coming first. WE have named our GPS “Janet Bossy,” and she’s not like having my dad or mom in the car with me telling me to “Turn right after this car goes by”!

  2. Linda Lyons says:

    I like that the GPS lady doesn’t yell at us when we go the wrong way, but gently says make a uturn…. Jesus is like that. He is out Shepard and loves us even when we go astray.

Leave a Reply

