God’s investment in you

Date: Thursday, October 3

ScriptureMatthew 25:14-30

Verse: Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and on my return I would have received what was my own with interest. (Matthew 25:27)

In my collection of clergy accoutrements is a set of simple stoles that mean a great deal to me. They’re elder stoles, so I don’t wear them (I’m a Deacon in the United Methodist Church and we wear the sash-like stole), but I can’t yet part with them. See, they were given to me when I began in ministry by Rev. Larry Richards, the associate pastor of my home church. He used them early in his career, and he passed them on to me. Those stoles serve as a sign of the congregation in which I was raised and the support I received from them.

I imagine you also have people you can point to who believed in you and took the time to invest in you. Maybe they mentored you, helped you get your first job in the field, believed in you when you didn’t believe in yourself, took you to lunch for some helpful advice, helped pay for books in college, or in some other way let you know you were important and would be good at what you do.

In the parable Jesus tells in today’s scripture reading, the man preparing for his journey is investing in his staff, similar to the way my home congregation invested in me and those others invested in you. He is equipping them, giving them a good start, offering them an opportunity to make themselves and him proud.

I have heard it said we use the word talent the way we do because of this parable. It was a unit of money in Jesus’ day, but we have adopted it to mean our gifts. Looked at this way, we see God has invested in us by giving us unique abilities. They aren’t stoles to be gathering dust in storage, they were given to you to be used for his glory.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, teach me anew to use to your glory the “talents” you’ve invested in me. Amen.

Action: Look again at the list of gifts you made on Monday. Reflect on how God you may continue, or begin, to use them for God’s glory.

Respond: Who invested in you? How did she/he do that? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

