Denying gifts

Date: Tuesday, October 1

ScriptureExodus 4:10-17

Verse: But Moses said to the Lord, “O my Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor even now that you have spoken to your servant; but I am slow of speech and slow of tongue… O my Lord, please send someone else.” (Exodus 4:10, 13b)

If you are about my age, you remember Happy Days. In the opening sequence every week, we saw Fonzie, everyone’s hero, look in a mirror to fix his hair and celebrate how good he already looks (if you’re too young to remember it, check it out HERE and embedded below). It must be nice to be Fonzie. Most of of us when we look in the mirror don’t see what’s right, but instead what’s wrong. Hair, makeup, clothes, wrinkles, blotches, acne, weight… And it’s not just literal mirrors and physical appearance. Whenever we look at ourselves, we know the subject so well it is fairly easy to find flaws.

Imagine being Moses in today’s reading. He is in the very presence of God, having a conversation with him through the burning bush. God is calling him to some amazingly important, albeit intimidating work. He is to go to Egypt and free the Israelites from the Pharaoh. God has told him he will be with him, but Moses knows himself well. “I don’t know if you’re aware of this,” he seems to say to his creator God, “but I’m not a very good talker. I think you have the wrong guy. Please send someone else.” We, the readers of Exodus, know Moses is uniquely gifted for this work, having grown up as an Israelite in the Pharaoh’s palace. But all Moses sees is what he can’t do.

I don’t think I’ll be ever able to look into a real or metaphorical mirror and, like Fonzie, celebrate what is right about me. But I can celebrate what is right about God and what he can do in and through me when I am willing to allow him to work through my gifts.

Prayer: Keep my focus on your strengths, O God, rather than my weakness. Amen.

Action: Look at the list of gifts you made yesterday, and reflect on how you have discounted them.

Respond: Do you have a favorite Happy Days memory? Do you know a Fonzie-like character or individual? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below.
If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

[youtube:=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6zl5x8r9Bs]
About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

