Listen to my prayer

Date: Saturday, August 31

ScripturePsalm 4

Verse: But know that the Lord has set apart the faithful for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him. (Psalm 4:3)

We close this week where we started. Talking about prayer.

There are times in my life when I have lifted a prayer and wondered if anyone is really listening, wondering if my prayers ever rise above the ceiling of my room. Most of the time, I have no doubt God is listening and acting in my life and the world around me. But there are other times, I confess, when I wonder if I’m not just talking to myself. 

One of the things I love about the Psalms is their brutal honesty. There is not a lot of pretense in these prayers. We hear the frustration, pain, and often joy. We can relate to what the author is going through, which is why they make such great prayers for us, even thousands of years later. 

The Wesley Study Bible calls Psalm 4 “A psalm of trust in times of anxiety.” There are times when I almost hear the psalmist convincing himself that God is listening: “Answer me when I call” (vs 1), and “the Lord hears when I call” (vs 3). I love that even in the doubt and anxiety, he keeps praying. That is a good lesson for us too – keep praying. 

As we said Monday, we might not think we are very good at prayer. We think we are doing something wrong. I have trouble believing God cares about the form of our prayers. That would be like checking the grammar in a love letter. Just keep praying, keep in touch with God, “Our Father in heaven.” 

Prayer: Thank you God for hearing me even when I’m not sure you do. Amen. 

Action: Make a set time for prayer every day in the week ahead. Put it in your calendar if that helps. 

Respond: Have you experimented with any new styles of prayer this week? Have you found one meaningful? (See Monday’s devotion for more on this) 
Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below. If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

