Paul adds Timothy

Date: Monday, July 22

ScriptureActs 16:1-5

Verse: Paul wanted Timothy to accompany him (Acts 16:3a)

In my final year of seminary I was appointed to my first church. I remember the excitement and anticipation I felt when I realized I would finally be doing what I was called to do. But there was another feeling that went along with it – fear. They teach a lot of things in seminary about Bible study, church history, theology, and even some classes about how the church runs, but this was no theory. This was the real deal. Luckily for me, in the next town there was a much larger United Methodist church with a seasoned pastor named Ed Carll. Whenever I had a question about how to do a wedding, how to run a church conference, or just how to get out of trouble because of a horrible mistake I had made, I went to Ed and he was happy to help.

You probably have some people like that in your life. Those who took you under their wing at work, in parenting, or enjoying a hobby. Mentors help us transition from thinking about pursuing something to actually doing it. My guess is you also have some faith mentors, people who have shown you what it means to be a Christian in the real world. 

In today’s scripture, Paul partners with a young man named Timothy, of whom people spoke well. Paul mentors Timothy in his faith and how to be an evangelist (we’ll look a little more at that tomorrow). 

One of the greatest gifts we can give another is the time we share as their mentor. Like I needed Ed and Timothy needed Paul, there are people in your life who would greatly benefit from your wisdom.

Prayer: Thank you God for those who have guided me, and show me those you have called me to mentor. Amen.

Action: Identify someone in your life whom you could mentor. 

Respond: Pay tribute to your mentor by telling a story or simply sharing his/her name by clicking “Leave a Comment” below. If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paul adds Timothy

  1. Lisa says:

    I have had some amazing mentors throughout my life, and right now even I have several who are helping me learn new things. And they are also encouraging me to help others coming along after me (some of whom are older than I am, which is funny.)

Leave a Reply

