The adventures of Paul and Barnabas

Date: Thursday, July 18

ScriptureActs 13:13-52

Verse: Of this man’s posterity God has brought to Israel a Savior, Jesus, as he promised (Acts 13:23)

Last summer I attended The Avengers movie with my family. I’m not much of a superhero fan, so I had only watched a couple of the movies about the individual characters leading up to this film. I was entertained by the film, but it was fairly obvious I wasn’t catching all of it. There were some in attendance who had been following these movies for years, including two in my family. They laughed at jokes I didn’t get, and later told me about references to the other movies. While I “got” the movie, I didn’t get it on as deep a level as the fans did. 

To fully grasp the Gospel, we too need to know the story leading up to it. When Paul shares the Gospel of Jesus in this passage, he starts way back with Moses and Israel’s Exodus from slavery in Egypt. The story of Jesus has its roots in the story of Israel. Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection is the culmination of Israel’s story. It is a story that was still going on in Paul’s day, and continues today (Acts 13:40-41). 

Unlike a movie, we have a role in this story. We are not simply in the audience. We are in the cast. We are called to live as part of the story of God’s redeeming work for all people and indeed the whole world. May you and I enter into Jesus’ story, the Gospel of God’s plan of redemption for us all. 

Prayer: Show me your ways O God, that I may know you more. Amen. 

Action: There are several Old Testament passages quoted by Paul in today’s reading. Read one or more of them, and maybe some of the surrounding passages: 

  • The story of David in 1 Samuel 13
  • Psalm 2
  • Isaiah 55
  • Psalm 16
  • Habakuk 1 (see vs 5-11)
  • Isaiah 49

Respond: What is your favorite movie series? Does it help if you have seen them all? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below. If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

