Peter in Lydda and Joppa

Date: Tuesday, July 9

ScriptureActs 9:36-43

Verse: Peter put all of them outside, and then he knelt down and prayed. He turned to the body and said, “Tabitha, get up.” Then she opened her eyes, and seeing Peter, she sat up. (Acts 9:40)

I was recently talking to a friend who gives me great advice. We were chatting about some things I thought were lacking in my life. She asked me a simple question, “Have you prayed for those things?” – a pretty daring question for someone to ask a pastor. I was surprised to respond that I hadn’t because I didn’t think they were the kinds of things God would be interested in. These things I was lacking weren’t spiritual, other-worldly things but were regular, ordinary everyday concerns of this world. 

When I reflected on the conversation later, I began to realize how much I limited my prayer life. I talked to God about certain things, and felt other things were my concern and would be of no interest to him. To be more precise, I did not pray for things I did not think I could make happen on my own. I was only praying for what I considered realistic. 

Peter had no trouble praying for something unrealistic. It is hard to imagine a more hopeless prayer than for a dead person to be resuscitated. Certainly he could not expect God to do that! But Peter never seems to think about what is realistic. He simply asks God for what he wants and leaves the results to God.

That was how I then decided to pray. Not so much for the outcome, or even for a way for me to solve the issue. Instead, I just poured out my desire to God for what I would like. It has really changed my prayer life, and I am seeing God at work in areas of my life I hadn’t let him penetrate previously. 

Prayer: Unleash my prayers, O God, that I might not limit your rule in my life. Amen. 

Action: If there is something you don’t normally pray for, bring it to God in prayer the rest of this week. 

Respond: In what ways have you learned to ask for what you need – from God, your spouse, your friends, others? Answer by clicking “Leave a Comment” below. If you are receiving this via email, click the title at the top of the email to take you to the devotion webpage where you can leave a comment.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

