Recalculating

Date: Friday, September 21

Scripture: 2 Peter 3:1-2, 14-18

Verse: “There are some things in them hard to understand, which the ignorant and unstable twist to their own destruction, as they do the other scriptures. You therefore, beloved, since you are forewarned, beware that you are not carried away with the error of the lawless and lose your own stability.” (2 Peter 3:16b-17)

In the early days of internet maps, before I owned a GPS, I printed directions to the home of a family in the church I was serving. I felt so high-tech and advanced, except for one minor problem. The map included a turn that did not exist. The road I needed abutted the one I was on, but the two roads did not actually intersect. What should have been a five-minute trip, turned into one of about twenty minutes, as I tried to find the way from the road I was on to the one I needed. One small error led to quite a bit of difficulty.

Our relationship with God can suffer similar consequences. There are people around us all the time who purport to speak for God – from the Westboro Baptist people, to the Mayan-believers, to the inspirational guru of the month. Those who do not know scripture well can be led down a path that will get them lost.

Today when I miss a turn, I hear a soothing voice say, “Recalculating,” which means the GPS is finding my way back to the correct route. Regular reading of the Bible can be your GPS, keeping you from getting on the wrong path.

Prayer: May your word, Lord Jesus, be my map toward following you more closely. Amen.

Action: Reflect on a time you were lost and how you got “back on track.”

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

