Are you listening?

Date: Monday, September 10

Scripture1 Samuel 3:1-21

Verse: “Now the Lord came and stood there, calling as before, ‘Samuel! Samuel!’ And Samuel said, ‘Speak, for your servant is listening.'” -1 Samuel 3:10

I guess each of us knows someone who never seems to be quiet. One who when in conversation doesn’t really seem to need you. A few nods or uh-huhs are enough to keep the going. One who asks a question and then tells you how you would answer it, and then argues with that answer. One who seems to relate every story back to himself or herself. Most of us find that frustrating and annoying.

But that is often how my prayer life can be. I can plow through a prayer talking the whole time. Telling God how much I love him, offering up my concerns for the people in my life who are in need, asking for strength to get through the day. I keep talking and talking until I say “Amen.” Then I get up and get on with my day. Like me with that annoying acquaintance, God has no time to get a word in.

Eli wisely councils Samuel to pray, “Speak, for your servant is listening.” What a great prayer! One I need to pray much more often. Samuel learned that prayer well and became “a trustworthy prophet of the Lord” (vs. 20). Prayer is communication with God, and good communication require listening as well as talking.

Prayer: Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening. Amen.

Action: Work hard at listening in the day ahead – to your coworkers, classmates, spouse, children, parents, siblings, friends, and God.

About Joe Iovino

Christian, husband & father, Associate Pastor in Monument CO, guitar player, motorcyclist, Mets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

